The Root Chakra: Muladhara

The Wonky Pot Apothecary


The Root Chakra

Muladhara Chakra

Central Theme: Stability, the will to live, self preservation, sense of trust & security, groundedness.

Number of Petals: 4

Colour: Red

Mantra: LAM

Element: Earth

Basic Symbol: Square

Planet: Mercury

Sensory Function: Smell

The Root Chakra is the lowest Chakra and as such is the foundation of all of the other Chakras. Its Sanskrit name is Muladhara, Mula meaning ‘Root’ and adhara meaning ‘Support’. This Chakra is also refered to as the Base Centre, the Tail Chakra, the root centre or the as the first Chakra. Ancient Hindu depictions show the root Chakra as a four petaled flower. These four petals correspond to the four Sanskrit syllables: Vam, am, sham and sam. The primary mantra that is used to activate this chakra is LAM (pronounced LANG). The Root Chakra is associated with the Hindu deities Brahma and Dakini. The Red colour of the root…

View original post 837 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s