blooming rose love


Compassion is called “non-violence” (Ahimsa) in the Eastern tradition and is sometimes relegated to speaking only of “non-injury” or “non-agitation.”  But compassion is much more than any of these.  Compassion is a basic approach to life that is unconditionally accepting, forgiving and loving.

Compassion is a goal and becoming compassionate is a process.  We seek progress as we become more and more compassionate.  We do not seek eternal and immediate perfection.  We seek progress.  We work each day at becoming more and more compassionate in every way.  Thus we make progress.


1.    Do no harm to yourself
2.    Do no harm to another
3.    Do no harm to animals
4.    Do no harm to plants
5.    Do no harm to the planet

Compassion means to do no harm to anything, anybody, anytime, anywhere.  Compassion is a state of being where we totally accept everything and everybody exactly as they are.  It’s a state where we forgive everybody and everything for all the harm caused to us or perceived to have been caused to us.  It’s a state of unconditional love for all things and all people.

Compassion is an ideal to which we aspire to the best of our ability each and every day.  When we attain this ideal, we become established in God Consciousness.  To become established in anything means that becomes our normal state.  Most of us are established in selfishness, greed, envy and self-importance.  As we practice compassion day by day these things fall away from us and we become established in higher and higher states, more accepting, forgiving and loving states.  We make progress.


On the physical level we practice to cause no harm to ourselves and others.  When we observe ourselves causing intentional harm, we stop and we evaluate the cause behind this behavior.   When we observe ourselves causing unintentional harm. we stop and we evaluate the cause behind this behavior.  We evaluate this in a state of contemplation and meditation.  We root out the cause and we change our behavior.  As we do this, we become more compassionate.  That’s Physical Compassion.

On the intentional level of our being we desire to be compassionate in all things and with all people.  We daily affirm to ourselves that we are becoming more compassionate, more accepting, more forgiving and more loving of all people and all things.  This includes ourselves and the Divine.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate.  That’s Intentional Compassion.

On the verbal level we practice speaking accepting, forgiving, loving and compassionate things.  We avoid speaking accusing, resentful, cutting, hurtful and insulting words.  We avoid speaking any words hatefully and with cruelty.  When we cannot do this, we avoid speaking or we change the subject and move on to something else.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate.  That’s Verbal Compassion.

On the emotional level whenever we feel anger welling up within us, we transmute it into peace and calm.  Whenever we feel fear or anxiety, we transmute it into inner strength.  Whenever we feel sorrow or sadness, we transmute it into happiness.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate with ourselves and others.  That’s Emotional Compassion.

On the psychological level, we resolve to play no games with ourselves or others.  We resolve to stop deceiving ourselves and others.  We drop our false images of ourselves and we become more and more real, more and more who we truly are.  We stop playing games and appearing to be something other than what we really are.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate.  That’s Psychological Compassion.

On the mental level, we make a considerable effort to accept, forgive and love.  We make a conscious decision to accept, forgive and love more today than we did yesterday.  In every situation we face,  we intentionally and consciously decide to accept more and more, forgive more and more and love more and more.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate.  That’s Mental Compassion.

On the spiritual level, we meditate and pray for others.  We meditate that they may obtain more compassion in their lives.  We pray they will find it in their hearts to be more compassionate with the people, plants and animals in their lives.  As we do this, we become more and more compassionate.  That’s Spiritual Compassion.

This the OM (or AUM) symbol used to end each lesson.  It’s a three-letter glyph of the Sanskrit voiced or unvoiced sounds for Ah – Oh – Mm.  The symbol approximates the sound of the Divine Creation we hear in deep meditation.  The more we meditate the sound of OM comes closer and closer to this reality.  Eventually we become washed in this sound most of the time.  That’s a sign of Enlightenment or Self-Realization.  In time we become “established in this sound.”  That means we hear the “Divine Voice” all the time and we become “God Realized.”

Within this sound of OM, the Divine speaks to us in many voices: parent, child, son, daughter, father, mother, friend and lover.  We can also enter this sound to travel wherever we want within the creation and do wondrous things.  So, this symbol is a reminder to listen to the “Voice of the Divine” within you.

These skills alone, if used on a daily basis for fifteen to twenty minutes two or three times a day, will eventually lead to deeper and deeper states of meditation.  This will be evidenced by the acquisition of the sound of OM more quickly during your meditation and the ability to hear OM during times when you are not meditating.  This process may take several lifetimes.